Black Angels

… de l’ombre à la lumière …

Black Angels is probably the only quartet to have been inspired by the Vietnam War. The work draws from an arsenal of sounds including shouting, chanting, whistling, whispering, gongs, maracas, and crystal glasses. The score bears two inscriptions: in tempore belli (in time of war) and “Finished on Friday the Thirteenth, March, 1970”. Black Angels was conceived as a kind of parable on our troubled contemporary world. (…)
The work portrays a voyage of the soul. The three stages of this voyage are Departure (fall from grace), Absence (spiritual annihilation) and Return (redemption). (…) The work abounds in conventional musical symbolisms such as the Diabolus in Musica (the interval of the tritone) and the Trillo Di Diavolo (the “Devil’s Trill”, after Tartini). “ G. Crumb

With this work as the center, our goal was to weave together a concert that respects this voyage of the soul, as it emerges from the infinitely small, its confinement and the murmuring swarm, toward a release into space, emptiness, and even serenity. “Black Angels” remains the pivot, the passageway, in this two-part concert. The performance is structured so as to expand upon Crumb’s piece, and allows us to confront the tension between the most divergent of musical directions. Q. Béla

Programme

John OSWALD “Spectre” for string quartet and recording
György LIGETI quartet n°2, 3rd, 4th, 5th mvt
George CRUMB “Black Angels”
Mats EDÉN quartet n°1, 3rd movement
Erkki-Sven TÜÜR quartet n°1, 1st movement
Benjamin BRITTEN quartet n°1, 1st movement


Affiche Black Angels - Conception Christophe Hamery, Photo Sylvie Friess

Premiere

Jeudi 24 Avril 2008, 20:00,
Festival La Belle Ouïe, Lavoir Moderne Parisien

Production

La Belle Ouïe Festival, Lavoir Moderne Parisien, Espace Malraux, Scène Nationale de Chambéry

Médias

Vidéos

Music :



Dates

    • Saturday 18 January 2014, 15:00, Cité de la musique, Paris
    • Friday 20 May 2011, 20:45, L'Estive, Scène nationale de Foix
    • Friday 30 May 2008, 20:00, Théâtre Charles Dullin, Chambéry

Black Angels

… de l’ombre à la lumière …

Black Angels est probablement le seul quatuor à avoir été inspiré par la guerre du Viêt-Nam. L’œuvre rassemble tout un arsenal de sons parmi lesquels on distingue des cris, des chants, des sifflements, des murmures, des gongs, et des verres de cristal.
La partition comporte deux inscriptions : « In tempore belli » et « Terminée le vendredi 13 mars 1970_ ». Black Angels a été conçu comme une sorte de parabole sur notre monde contemporain agité. L’œuvre dresse le portrait d’un voyage de l’âme : le Départ – perte de la grâce –, l’Absence – l’annihilation spirituelle – et le Retour – la Rédemption. L’œuvre regorge de symbolismes musicaux conventionnels tels que le Diabolus in Musica – l’intervalle de triton et le Trillo di Diavolo – le trille du diable, d’après Tartini.

Autour de cette pièce, nous avons voulu tisser un concert qui respecte ce parcours de l’âme, émergeant de l’infiniment petit, du cloisonnement, du fourmillement pour s’envoler vers l’espace, le vide… et la sérénité ? Black Angels restera le pivot, le passage dans ce concert en deux parties. La structure de la soirée est une amplification de l’œuvre de CRUMB, et nous permet de confronter les tendances musicales les plus antagonistes.

Programme

John OSWALD, Spectre pour quatuor et bande
György LIGETI, Quatuor no. 2, 3e, 4e, 5e mouvement
George CRUMB, Black Angels
Mats EDÉN, Quatuor no. 1, 3e mouvement
Erkki-Sven TÜÜR, Quatuor no. 1, 1er mouvement
Benjamin BRITTEN, Quatuor no. 1, 1er mouvement


Affiche Black Angels - Conception Christophe Hamery, Photo Sylvie Friess

Distribution

Le Quatuor Béla
Hervé Frichet, lumière
Emile Martin, sonorisation

Création

Jeudi 24 Avril 2008, 20:00,
Festival La Belle Ouïe, Lavoir Moderne Parisien

Médias

Vidéos

Extrait sonore :


À propos de Black Angels, une interview de Frédéric Aurier


Dates

    • samedi 18 janvier 2014, 15:00, Cité de la musique, Paris
    • vendredi 20 mai 2011, 20:45, L'Estive, Scène nationale de Foix
    • vendredi 30 mai 2008, 20:00, Théâtre Charles Dullin, Chambéry