The Kreutzer Sonata

The relationship of music composers to string quartets has often been intimate, without a doubt due to the obligation to say the essential and invite inward thinking.

This is entirely true concerning this program’s composers. Janacek entrusts us with his loving passions through his quartets, giving those music sheets true mini operas. Restrained by Stalin’s regime, Chostakovitch hid his most audacious musical discoveries in his quartets. He entrusts music with his terror behind the barbarism that surrounded him.

Stravinsky concocted an explosive music that, if not foreign to us, seemed nevertheless to evoke the choral society of a faraway land with breath-taking customs. Lastly Schnittke, from natural torment, left numerous times between life and death due to cerebral attacks, responds to the fragility of existence with urgent and powerful music.

They also have a certain science of collage and quotation in common: ancient and modern music struggling against a modern and biting language, traditional Jewish music, and melodies of spoken language.

As such, these composers are not concerned about being “modern” or “avant-garde”. They haven’t refused the musical heritage of centuries past. On the contrary, they know how to use this in favour of irresistible and poignant dramatic arts.

Programme

Igor STRAVINSKY, Concertino (1920) 6’
Alfred SCHNITTKE, Quartet No. 2 (1980) 22’
Dmitri CHOSTAKOVITCH, Quartet No. 7 in F minor opus 108 (1960) 12’
Leos JANACEK, Quartet N°1 “The Kreutzer Sonata” (1923) 19’


“Bela Quartet fascinates the listener with a modern Russian and Czech program. It is a flawless performance with great depth in the interpretation that flows from the attachment of the musicians to the defence of 20th century repertoire.”
Victoria Okada, Resmusica.

“…panache, technical transcendence, the power and agility of wild beasts…”
Jacques Duffourg, Appogiature


QBela_Peinture_Sonate à Kreutzer_René François Xavier Prinet

Venues

    • Sunday 22 January 2017, 16:00, Salle Jean Gabin à Royan
    • Monday 11 May 2015, 20:30, Scène Watteau, Nogent-sur-Marne

Sonate à Kreutzer

Le rapport des compositeurs au quatuor à cordes a souvent été de l’ordre de l’intime. Sans doute parce que l’économie de moyens mise en jeu oblige à dire l’essentiel et invite à l’introspection.

C’est tout particulièrement vrai concernant les compositeurs de ce programme. Janacek nous a confié à travers ses quatuors ses passions amoureuses, donnant à ces pages la force de véritables petits opéras. Chostakovitch, bridé par le régime Stalinien, cachait dans ses quatuors ses trouvailles musicales les plus audacieuses, confiant à la musique sa terreur envers la barbarie qui l’environnait.

Stravinsky a concocté une musique détonante, dont les flonflons, s’ils ne nous sont pas étrangers, semblent néanmoins évoquer l’orphéon d’un pays lointain aux coutumes désarmantes. Schnittke enfin, d’un naturel tourmenté, laissé plusieurs fois entre la vie et la mort à cause d’attaques cérébrales, répond à cette fragilité de l’existence par une musique urgente et forte.

Ils ont aussi en commun une certaine science du collage et de la citation : musiques anciennes ou populaires luttant contre un langage moderne et acéré, musique traditionnelle juive, mélodies de la langue parlée …

Ainsi, ces compositeurs ne se sont pas préoccupés d’être « modernes » ou « avant-gardistes » et n’ont pas refusé l’héritage musical des siècles passés, bien au contraire ils ont su l’utiliser en faveur d’une dramaturgie irrésistible et poignante.

Programme

Igor STRAVINSKY, Concertino (1920) 6′
Alfred SCHNITTKE, Quatuor no. 2 (1980) 22’
Dmitri CHOSTAKOVITCH, Quatuor no. 7 en Fa mineur opus 108 (1960) 12′
Leos JANACEK, Quatuor no. 1 « Sonate à Kreutzer » (1923) 19′

OU

Igor STRAVINSKY, Concertino (1920) 6′
Erwin SCHULHOFF, Quatuor no. 1 (1924) 16′
Dmitri CHOSTAKOVITCH, Quatuor no. 7 en Fa mineur opus 108 (1960) 12′
Leos JANACEK, Quatuor no. 1 « Sonate à Kreutzer » (1923) 19′


« Le Quatuor Béla fascine l’auditoire avec un programme moderne russe/tchèque. Une performance sans faille et une grande profondeur dans l’interprétation qui découlent de l’attachement des musiciens à la défense du répertoire du XXe siècle. »
Victoria Okada, Resmusica, juillet 2013.


QBela_Peinture_Sonate à Kreutzer_René François Xavier Prinet

Première

Le dimanche 20 janvier à l’Équinoxe de Châteauroux

Production

L’Oreille Droite, sur l’invitation de la Comédie de Clermont Ferrand.
Ce concert reçoit le soutien de Musique Nouvelle en Liberté

Médias

Vidéo
Revue de presse (PDF)


 

Dates

    • dimanche 22 janvier 2017, 16:00, Salle Jean Gabin à Royan
    • lundi 11 mai 2015, 20:30, Scène Watteau, Nogent-sur-Marne