Violes Trompes et Tambours with Jean Louis trio

Violins, Horns and Drums ! …

        This previously unreleased music premiere links the Chamber music of the Bela Quartet and the bruitist trance jazz bursts of Jean Louis in a delicately savage bond.

Here is a meeting at the summit of a mountain. The four Bela Quartet and three Jean Louis musicians, two highly sought after heads of contemporary music, met each other to dig into new music galleries that were at the crossroads of scholarly music and a noise, rock and free jazz influenced music.

Bela Quartet, known for their virtuosic and intense interpretations of Ligeti, Crumb, Britten, Cage, and Lachemann among others unites with the surprising Jean Louis Trio, known for their sometimes ultra rhythmic, other times noisy compositions that resonate in unison with the most classic and demanding writings.

From different universes and methods of expressing themselves, they decided to express their desire to go further and build new bridges between acoustic and amplification, between composition and improvisation, between an English garden and subtropical forest with one common voice. They convert space into a slices of life formed by the allures of a miniature symphonic orchestra.

The seven musicians know each other well. They listened to one other for a long time, and understand each other perfectly. The creation presented by Bela-Jean-Louis results from a long exchange of tools, customs and musical palettes that are woven by a fine, intricate musical language. They certainly have a common natural curiosity in front of sonic material, the crisscrossing of genres, and the advantageous risk-taking. This has given birth to a desire to explore the untamed corners of music creation. Chamber music is also found here, expanded into the winds of a larger, concentrated and irrefutably passionate new intimacy.

Lara Sarcevic


Quatuor Béla
Frédéric Aurier & Julien Dieudegard, violin
Julian Boutin, viola
Luc Dedreuil, cello

Jean Louis
Francesco Pastacaldi, drums
Joachim Florent, upright bass
Aymeric Avice, trumpet

Emile Martin, sound

Music written by Jean Louis, Béla Quartet & Benjamin de la Fuente



November 12th, 2014 at Nevers Jazz Festival



co-production with GMEM, National Center for Music Creation of Marseille, Césaré, National Center for Music Creation of Reims, Nevers Jazz Festival
in partnership with Périscope, Dynamo/Banlieues Bleues and Les Nuits d’Eté Festival

This concert received the support of DRAC Rhône Alpes & ADAMI